"Visitors in Real Time" widget reports wrong country of origin

Dear All,

I am new to piwik and really like it. I am experiencing a strange problem. The widget correctly identifies the IP address and the ISP but refers to the wrong country and displays the wrong flag (see below). I do not know which IPlocator is being used to report results, but I have checked the location of IP addresses using ip2location.com and the IP addresses seem to return the correct country.

I presume this problem has been encountered before and that there is a solution. A quick scan of the forums does not seem to identify a similar problem.

Now here are two results:

190.140.9.119 is reported as Spain but is actually Panama.
125.26.86.31 is reported as USA but is actually Thailand

Thanks for any help.
Andrew

I’m experiencing the same thing:

70.28.245.* (Canada) is reported as USA
117.206.192.* (India) is reported as USA
59.99.212.* (India) is reported as USA

My guess is that the Live plugin is accessing a database to look these up, and that that particular database is not very accurate. So what would it take to point the Live plugin to a different database?

Yes that’s what I think too - but suspect that we cannot alter the database ourselves - or can we??? Maybe I need to take a closer look at the config of piwik.

This is the first response to this problem - I hope experienced piwikers will respond.

Cheers
Andrew

http://piwik.org/faq/troubleshooting/#faq_65

Thanks Matthieu. I have checked the link and done all that it says.

Now Visitors > Locations & Provider reports locations correctly.

However…

On the DASHBOARD (front page of piwik) - the following widget still reports incorrect data (even for the latest connections):
Visitors in Real Time
and I am not sure that the Visitor Countries widget is returning the correct data yet.