Piwik database has to be updated error

Dear Piwik-Gurus,

acutally i am a newbie in using piwik. I lately downloaded the newest version of Piwik (version 1.8.3 i guessed) and installed it on my server. Everything gone fine and i managed to install it easily…

but now i am encountering a very pesky problem, whenever i started to go to my piwik website the database-update-site of piwik is redirected, it said I have to update the database to the new piwik version 1.8.3 (see attachment posfix bug1). I tried update but it shows up the following error “Fatal error: Call to undefined method Piwik_Config::setConfigSection() in /usr/local/piwik/core/Updates/0.5.4.php on line 53” (see attachment posfix bug2). then i tried the command line version (see attachment posfix bug3), but still no success … i then tried to update the database manually (it was actually very annoying since a bunch of errors appear…), but still no success… trying to uncomment the error line in the php files doesnt make any good effects…

thus i dont know what to do now, still cannot run piwik on my system…

my system:
solaris 10 sparc (64bit)

php:
PHP 5.3.8 (cli) (built: Sep 26 2011 03:07:57)
Copyright © 1997-2011 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright © 1998-2011 Zend Technologies

mysql:
version 5.5.27

thank you alot in advance!!!

–hai

btw i have looked for that error in the forum but couldnt find any threads relating to this issue… maybe i have missed but anyway if anyone can help me, i’d be appreciated. thanks again!

–hai

Hi,

after trying to download the older version of piwik (version: 1.7.2-rc9), i installed it, everying gone fine again, but when I started the home page, I still get the message:

The database has to be upgraded …

and finally I get the error message after doing the upgrade procudure…:

Fatal error: Call to undefined method Piwik_Config::setConfigSection() in /usr/local/piwik/core/Updates/0.5.4.php on line 53