Warning from geoIp2/Php.php

(Not sure how to tag this, I’m new to Matomo)

Hello! I’m evaluating Matomo for a business, and have installed it in a SWAG* environment with additional mariadb container. After creating some traffic, I saw no geographic data. When I go to Settings → System → Geolocation I get several instance of this error:

WARNING: /plugins/GeoIp2/LocationProvider/GeoIp2/Php.php(318): Warning - iconv(): Wrong encoding, conversion from "UTF-8" to "ASCII//TRANSLIT" is not allowed - Matomo 5.0.3 - Please report this message in the Matomo forums: {LINK REDACTED SO THE FORUM WILL LET ME POST} (please do a search first as it might have been reported already) (Module: UserCountry, Action: adminIndex, In CLI mode: false)

I’m following instructions by posting here, after searching and not finding a report of this issue.

* I tried to link to the project for context, but the forum denied me. SWAG is a LinuxServer dot io project that bundles Nginx and PHP, along with certbot and other nicities.

Friends, if I’ve done something wrong, committed some faux pas for this forum that disqualifies me from interaction, please let me know. If this is a PEBCAK error I’d be super please, because those are the easiest to solve.

Hi @Aximilli
Do you have some warnings or errors in :gear: > Diagnostic > System Check?
Is there any other errors in the Matomo error log file?

Hi @heurteph-ei, thanks for responding!

The system check dings me for crontab, max packet size, and forced SSL. I wasn’t worried about them for the purposes of this evaluation deployment, but if perhaps the packet size is related please let me know.

Following this FAQ page, I enabled a log file (which wasn’t on by default), and it moved the errors off of the page and into the file:

$ tail matomo.log 
WARNING GeoIp2[2024-03-19 17:31:04 UTC] [8cc4b] 
/config/www/matomo/plugins/GeoIp2/LocationProvider/GeoIp2/Php.php(318):